NYC Kendra's Law (AOT) Contact Phone Numbers - Mental Illness Policy Org

NYC Kendra’s Law (AOT) Contact Phone Numbers

//NYC Kendra’s Law (AOT) Contact Phone Numbers
NYC Kendra’s Law (AOT) Contact Phone Numbers2018-01-20T10:44:05+00:00

KENDRA’S LAW REGIONAL CONTACTS

Here are people to call if you think someone could benefit from AOT and meets the criteria for Kendra’s Law.

If you want someone admitted to the AOT program, you are going to have to fight hard and be persistent. The mental health departments do not want people in AOT because it obligates them to provide treatment for people who can be difficult to treat. If you are not able/willing to fight hard and get the system to file a petition, and you have the resources, You can also petition yourself. The forms and up to date contacts are on the NYS Website here https://www.omh.ny.gov/omhweb/statistics/index.htm (Go to AOT, then scroll down)

Following are people you can try to cajole into letting someone into the program. These contacts may become dated.

 AOT CONTACTS

(culled by DJ Jaffe, Mental Illness Policy Org., 1/20/2018)

There are several lists of contacts. Some lists are managed by state and some by city. NYS OMH oversees statewide implementation so they have lists of who is responsible for that. Other lists are by city. I bolded the persons you may be most interested to contact

NYC DOHMH says these are the contacts for AOT
Manhattan AOT Team: 347-396-7373
Queens AOT Team: 347-396-7004
Bronx AOT Team: 347-396-7375
Brooklyn/Staten Island AOT Team: 347-396-7374

NYS OMH says these are the NYC AOT Contacts. They are all doctors and I believe they all work for NYC at city hospitals, unlike ones above who are administrators and work for the state.

New York County
Dr. Scott Soloway
Phone: 347-396-7373
Secure Fax: 347-396-7167
E-mail: ssoloway@health.nyc.gov

Bronx County
Dr. Michael Balogh
Phone: 347-396-7251
Secure Fax: 347-396-7339
E-mail: mbalogh@health.nyc.gov

Queens County
Dr. Daniel Garza
Phone: 347-396-7004
Secure Fax: 347-396-7167
E-mail: dgarza@health.nyc.gov

Richmond County
Dr. Laura Downs
Phone: 347-396-7374
Secure Fax: 347-396-7339
E-mail: ldowns2@health.nyc.gov

Kings County
Dr. Laura Downs
Phone: 347-396-7374
Secure Fax: 347-396-7339
E-mail: ldowns2@health.nyc.gov

The Conference of Local Mental Hygiene Directors says the AOT contact for NYC is

Nancy Hulbrock
Phone: (347) 396-7118
nhulbroc@health.nyc.gov

NYC DOHMH has said (at various times) families needing AOT should call 1800LIFE-NET, 1800NYC-WELL, and contact NYC DOHMH Customer Service.

NEW YORK STATE:

This is the OMH employee responsible for NYC OMH Field Office and listed by OMH as responsible for overseeing AOT implementation for the state in NYC.

Paul Iappini
NYC Field Office
330 Fifth Avenue, 9th Floor
New York NY 10001
Phone: 212-330-6376
Secure Fax: 877-468-1530
E-mail: Paul.Iappini@omh.ny.gov

OMH brochure says family needing AOT in NYC should call 212-330-1650. I don’t know where that leads.

OMH says these three people are OMH employees with responsibility for implementing AOT throughout state

Tom Gottehrer Assistant Statewide Director
NYS Office of Mental Health
44 Holland Avenue
Albany  NY 12229
Phone: 518-402-4233
Secure Fax: 518-473-0066
E-mail: Tom.Gottehrer@omh.ny.gov

Nancy Pepe Assistant Counsel
NYS Office of Mental Health
44 Holland Avenue
Albany NY 12229
Phone: 518-473-1331
Secure Fax: 518-473-7863
E-mail: Nancy.Pepe@omh.ny.gov

Rebecca Briney
NYS Office of Mental Health
44 Holland Avenue
Albany NY 12229
Phone: 518-402-4233
Secure Fax: 518-473-0066
E-mail: Rebecca.Briney@omh.ny.gov

These are the AOT contacts within the NYS Psychiatric Hospitals located within NYC. The list is dated 11/2014, so may be dated, but I don’t think there is much turnover in those positions.

Psychiatric Institute (PI)
Dr. David Lowenthal:
Phone: 212 – 543 – 6723
Fax:    212 – 543 – 6015
E-mail: lowenth@nyspi.columbia.edu

Manhattan Psychiatric Center (MPC)
Lucy Thelen, LCSW:
Phone: 646 – 672 – 6360
Fax: 646 – 672 – 6277
E-mail:  Lucy.Thelen@omh.ny.gov

Creedmoor Psychiatric Center (CPC)
Pamela Karp, Ph.D:
Phone:  718 – 264 – 5450
Fax:     718 – 264 – 4296
E-mail:  Pamela.Karp@omh.ny.gov

South Beach Psychiatric Center (SBPC)
Cheryl Gallagher:
Phone:  718 – 667 – 2831
Fax:     718 – 667 – 2344
E-mail:  Cheryl.Gallagher@omh.ny.gov

Michael Todd:
Phone: 718 – 667 – 2506
Fax:     718 – 667 – 2344
E-mail:  Michael.Todd@omh.ny.gov

Kingsboro Psychiatric Center (KPC)
Dr. Linda Gamble:
Phone: 718 – 221 – 7337
Fax:     718 – 221 – 7206
E-mail:  Linda.Gamble@omh.ny.gov

Bronx Psychiatric Center (BPC)
Althea Blount:
Phone:  718 – 862 – 4744
Fax:     718 – 862 – 4856
E-mail:  Althea.Blount@omh.ny.gov

Rockland Psychiatric Center (RPC)
Linda Richmond:
Phone:  845 – 680 – 8098
Fax:     845 – 680 – 8044
E-mail:  Linda.Richmond@omh.ny.gov

These were culled 1/2018. They are followed by ones culled earlier

 


These contacts were collected earlier and may still be valid

Central Office:

AOT Central Office Telephone/Fax & E-mail Addresses
Rebecca Briney
Statewide Director
Central Office
44 Holland Avenue 7th Floor
Albany, NY 12229 
Ph: 518-402-4233
Fax: 518-473-0066
Rebecca.Briney@omh.ny.gov
New York State
Amy McGeary
Assistant Statewide Director
Central Office
44 Holland Avenue 7th Floor
Albany, NY 12229 
Ph: 518-402-4233
Fax: 518-473-0066
Amy.McGeary@omh.ny.gov
New York State
Nancy Pepe
Assistant Counsel
Central Office
44 Holland Avenue 8th Floor
Albany, NY 12229
Ph: 518-474-1331
Fax: 518-473-7863
Nancy.Pepe@omh.ny.gov
New York State

 

County Office:

AOT Program Coordinators Field Office Telephone/Fax & E-mail Addresses Counties
Zinnat Rahman Long Island Field Office
Pilgrim Psychiatric Center
Building 45-3
998 Crooked Hill Road
West Brentwood, NY 11717 
Ph: 631-761-2092
Secure Fax: 877-849-1068
Zinnat.Rahman@omh.ny.gov
Long Island:
Nassau, Suffolk
Paul Iappini New York City Field Office
330 Fifth Avenue, 9thFloor
New York, NY 10001
Ph: 212-330-6376
Secure Fax: 877-468-1530 or 877-849-1063
Paul.Iappini@omh.ny.gov
New York City:
Kings, Richmond, Manhattan, Queens, Bronx
Cherie Seidewand Hudson River Field Office
10 Ross Circle, Suite 5N
3rd Floor
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Ph: 845-454-8229
Secure Fax: 877-849-1067
Cherie.Seidewand@omh.ny.gov
Hudson River:
Albany, Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Westchester
Duane Hall Central New York Field Office
545 Cedar Street
Syracuse, NY 13210
Ph: 315-426-3930
Secure Fax: 877-838-1829
Duane.Hall@omh.ny.gov
Central:
Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Clinton, Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, St. Lawrence
Elizabeth Haley Western New York Field Office
737 Delaware Avenue
Suite 200
Buffalo, NY 14209
Ph: 716-533-4075
Secure Fax: 877-849-1064
Elizabeth.Haley@omh.ny.gov
Western:
Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates